About the Region


          DepED Region III (Central Luzon), a center of educational excellence provides total quality basic educational services to the youth, including those with special needs, through formal, non-formal and informal channels to develop them to the fullest by equipping them with knowledge, skills, values and attitudes necessary for their active and successful participation in the economic, political, socio-cultural, spiritual and moral life in a just and humane society.

          REGION III (Central Luzon), the largest contiguous area of lowland in the country, is strategically located in the central part of Luzon Island.  Technically, it lies between latitudes 120O and 160Onorth of the equator and between longitudes of 120O and 121O.  It has a land area of 1,823,085 hectares. Nueva Ecija province occupies the biggest land area while Bataan peninsula has the smallest land holding. The saucer-shaped Pampanga river basin waters all of the fertile valleys in Pampanga, Nueva Ecija, Bulacan and part of Tarlac, while the great Agno River drains the northern portion of the region. Practically, the seven provinces, composing one solid mass of land, produce rice and sugar.

          The climate of Central Luzon is of the first type that is composed of two pronounced seasons, the dry season which starts in November and ends in April, and the wet season from May to October. 

          In terms of military installations, major military/ police camps found in the region are: (1) Camp Olivas in the City of San Fernando (P), the headquarters of the 3rd Philippine National Police (PNP); (2) Camp Aquino in San Miguel, Tarlac City, the headquarters of the North Luzon Command; (3) Philippine Army Training Center in Fort Magsaysay, Palayan City; and (4) Basa Air Base in Floridablanca,  Pampanga, the home of the Philippine Air Force 5th Fighter Wing. 

          There are three (3) major ethnic groups in the region: Tagalog, Pampango and Ilocano.  More than half of the population or 53 percent speak Tagalog that is attributed to the large Tagalog-speaking provinces of Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, and Bataan.  Twenty-seven percent speak Pampango while 15 percent speak Ilocano.    

          DepED Region III (Central Luzon) has twenty (20) schools divisions. These are Aurora, Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Tarlac, Zambales, Angeles City, Balanga City, Cabanatuan City, Olongapo City, San Jose Del Monte City, City of San Fernando, Gapan City, Tarlac City, Science City of Muñoz, City of Malolos, San Jose City, Meycauayan City, and Mabalacat City.

          The Regional Office is situated at the Diosdado Macapagal Government Center, Maimpis, City of San Fernando, Pampanga. The divisions of Pampanga and Nueva Ecija have the most number of school districts of thirty (30) while the division of Bulacan registers the biggest enrolment data. There are some island schools in Zambales, while in Nueva Ecija there are few mountain schools.

          DepED Region III is fully committed to achieve total quality management and educational excellence to attain its philosophy of education which is to develop citizens who believe in God, love their country and their fellowmen and actively participate in building a just Filipino society and in conserving and developing the nation’s human and material resources.

          The third millennium brings various highly competitive challenges in education. These challenges are in terms of access, quality, efficiency and effectiveness. To cope with these challenges, the educational goals, strategies, programs and projects of DepEd Region III are focused on the development of the learners to prepare them to become responsible citizens, productive and self-reliant adults.

          Much more, educational services in Region III are designed with a view to attain a balance of cognitive development, character formation, humanities orientation as well as future technological developments.


  • In 1947, by virtue of Executive Order No. 94, the Department of Instruction was changed to Department of Education. During this period, the regulation and supervision of public and private schools belonged to the Bureau of Public and Private Schools. In 1972, it became the Department of Education and Culture by virtue of Proclamation 1081 and the Ministry of Education and Culture in 1978 by virtue of P.D. No. 1397. Thirteen regional offices were created and major organizational changes were implemented in the educational system.
  • The Department of Education and Culture (DEC) Regional Office III was founded in July 1975.
  • The DEC Regional Office was housed in the private school building located near the West Wing of the Provincial Capitol of Pampanga.
  • The biggest and oldest division in Region III is Nueva Ecija, which recently celebrated its 114th Founding Anniversary last September 1, 2015.
  • The youngest division in the region is Meycauayan City.
  • Originally, it has nine school divisions when it was founded namely Nueva Ecija, Bataan, Bulacan, Pampanga, Tarlac, Zambales, Angeles City, Cabanatuan City, and Olongapo City.
  • The DECS Regional Office transferred to the RELC in Angeles City in 1996 after the Mt. Pinatubo eruption.
  • On December 8, 1997, DECS Region III transferred to its present office at the Government Center in Maimpis, City of San Fernando, Pampanga.