DO 7, s. 1991 – Designating the Members of the Technical Panel for Engineering Education

February 1, 1991
DO 7, s. 1991
Designating the Members of the Technical Panel for Engineering Education
To:    Undersecretaries
Assistant Secretaries
Bureau Directors
Directors of Services / Centers and Heads of Units
Regional Directors
Schools Superintendents
Presidents, State Colleges and Universities
Heads of Private Schools, Colleges and Universities
Vocational School Superintendents/Administrators
1.   By virtue of Department Order No. 35, s. 1997, as amended by DECS Orders Nos. 25 and 5, s. 1998, the Technical Panel for Engineering Education (TPEE) shall serve as a consultative, advisory, and recommendatory body to the Department of Education, Culture and Sports on matters relating to the continued rationalization and upgrading of engineering education in the Philippines.
2.   Pursuant to Section 60, Chapter 2, Part IV of Batas Pambansa Blg. 232, which provides that the Board of Higher Education “may create technical panels of experts in the various disciplines as the need arises”, the TPEE shall serve as the advisory and consultative body to the Board in the promotion and enhancement of the system of engineering education in the country.
3.  The members of the TPEE are hereby designated effective January 1, 1991, as follows :


Academe                   (Public) Dr. Ruben A. Garcia         Dean, UP College of Engineering Chairman Mechanical Engineering
Bureau of Higher Education (BHE) Dr.HernandoS. Dizon,   Director, BHE Co-Chairman   (Ex Officio) Higher Education
Academe                   (Private) 1.  Dean Rodrigo V.    Masil         School of  EE/ECE/COE           Mapua Institute of Technology Member Electrical Engineering
Phil. Chamber of Commerce & Industry  (PCCI) 2.  Engr. Federico V. Espitola    Representative-PCCI Member Industrial Engineering
National Manpower & Youth Council (NMYC) 3.  Dir. Jose D. Lacson                Director General, NMYC Member Skills Development and Training
Phil. Technological Council 4.  Engr. Alberto B. Muyot           Vice President, PTC Member Chemical Engineering
National Engineering Center 5.  Dr. Francisco L. Viray           Executive Director, NEC Member Continuing Engineering Education
Phil. Association for Technological Educators (PATE) 6. Dean Peter M. Ureta                President, PATE Member Civil Engineering
Academe                     Architecture 7.  Prof. Geronimo V. Manahan
UP College of Architecture
Member Architecture Education
Department of Science and Technology (DOST) 8.  Dr. Adolfo Jesus R. Gopez    Exec. Director, Phil. Council for Industry and Energy Research and Development, DOST Member Mining/Metallurgical Engineering
Academe                      (Private)
9. Dean Walden S, Rio  College of Engineering Central Phil. University
Member Chemical Engineering
Academe                      (Private) 10.  Dr. Paulino Y. Ten       Vice President                        De La Salle University Member Technical and Chemical Engineering
Technical Panel for Technical & Vocational Education (TPTVE) 11. Dr.Alcestis M. Guiang      ViceChairman, TPTVE Member Technical and Vocational Education
Professional Regulations Commission (PRC) 12. A Representative of the Commissioner   of the PRC Member Professional Regulations
4.   Terms of Appointment – To provide continuity of operation of the Panel, the terms of appointment of the panel members shall be divided into two (2) batches. The first seven (7) members mentioned above shall serve for a period of one (1) year and the next six (6) members shall serve for a period of two (2) years, without prejudice to reappointment. In case the appointee is not able to complete his/her term, his/her replacement shall serve only for the remaining term of the original appointee. Succeeding appointments shall be for a period of two (2) years. The current Chairman shall also serve for a period of one year. As provided in DECS Order NO. 75, s. 1998, the Director of the Bureau of Higher Education (BHE) shall serve as the Co-Chairman.
5.  The TPEE members, in consideration of their services shall receive monthly honoraria/allowances as authorized under existing rules and regulations.
6.  This Order shall take effect on January 1, 1991.
                                                                                                                   ( SGD. ) ISIDRO D. CARINO
Department Order :  (No. 35, s. 1977)
DECS Orders:  (Nos. 25 and 75, s. 1988)
Allotment:   1-2-3-4—(M.O. 1-87)
To be indicated in the Perpetual Index
under the following subjects: