DepEd honors best Brigada Eskwela 2016 implementing schools

Monday, November 28, 2016
The Department of Education (DepEd) will once again recognize the fruits of bayanihan showcased by communities of elementary and secondary schools across the country through the 2016 Brigada Eskwela National Awards.
On November 29, 2016, participating schools that generated the most resources and most number of volunteers for class opening will be awarded during a ceremony at the Claire Isabel McGill Luce Auditorium of the Silliman University in Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental.
Education Secretary Leonor Magtolis Briones said that the awards aim to acknowledge and advocate best practices in mobilizing the community and the private sector in the annual Brigada Eskwela.
“We hope that the Brigada Eskwela Awards is not the end of our shared responsibility to make our students’ environment safe and conducive to learning. May this be just the beginning of more participation from the general public to make education truly accessible, inclusive, and liberating,” Briones pointed out.
Six (6) schools, three (3) in elementary and three (3) in secondary, per region will be awarded Best Implementing School in the following categories: Small School, Big School, and Exceptional School.
A Hall of Fame Award will be given to schools that are consistently awarded as Best Implementing School for three (3) consecutive years. A Certificate of Recognition will also be awarded to school heads, school Brigada Eskwela coordinators, and division Brigada Eskwela coordinators.
This year, the Leadership Award will be handed out to school heads who, despite being assigned to different schools, continue to make their former school win as best implementer.
Meanwhile, the Best Implementing Region Award will go to the region that posted the highest percentage increase in generated resources and volunteer turnout.
Briones, an alumna and former chairperson of Silliman’s Board of Trustees (BOT), will be the guest of honor in the awarding ceremony. She will be joined by DepEd officials, private sector partners, local government unit representatives, school heads, and PTA officers.