PASIG CITY, July 24, 2018 – In partnership with the Department of Education (DepEd), the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. (MBFI) announces the seven teacher-finalists, together with 12 finalists from other categories, of the 2018 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos who will undergo the final selection process on July 27 and 28 at the Metrobank Plaza in Makati City.

This Award aims to recognize outstanding Filipinos who are responsible citizens, exemplary public servants, and agents of positive change in their respective communities.

Finalists for the teachers category are Carina De Los Santos of Uyugan Elementary School (Uyugan, Batanes); Mary Jane Ramo of Tonggo Elementary School (Tudela, Misamis Occidental); Venus Alboruto, PhD of Surigao City National High School (Surigao City); Alma Janagap, EdD of Pavia National High School (Pavia, Iloilo); Aimee Marie Gragasin, PhD of Philippine Science High School–Cagayan Valley Campus (Bayombong, Nueva Vizcaya); Carla Dimalanta, PhD of the University of the Philippines–Diliman (Quezon City); and Ma. Mercedes Rodrigo, PhD of Ateneo De Manila University (Quezon City).

These teacher-finalists have undergone field validation process that assessed the depth and magnitude of the impact of their accomplishments on target beneficiaries and the community. They were also subjected to a thorough background investigation that ensured that they are not only models of excellence in their line of work, but also of morality in their respective hometowns.

Joining them are six finalists from the soldiers category and six from police officers category. Of the 19 finalists, 10 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos – composed of four teachers, three soldiers, and three police officers – will be selected for going above and beyond the call of duty in their respective pursuits of service to the nation and its citizenry.

The awardees will be honored during Metrobank’s 56th anniversary celebration in September. Each of them will receive one million pesos worth of cash prize, a trophy, and a medallion. They will also be conferred as 2018 Metrobank Foundation Fellows in Public Service and given the opportunity to share their best practices through lectures across the country.