PASIG CITY, May 8, 2019 – After an intensive deliberation on the proposals of bidding local government units (LGUs), the Department of Education (DepEd) declared Occidental Mindoro and Negros Occidental as hosts of the 2020 and 2021 Palarong Pambansa, respectively.

The Palaro Board, led by DepEd Secretary and Palaro Board Chair Leonor Magtolis Briones, made the decision after the members reviewed the bids and discussed the reports on technical inspection for Occidental Mindoro, Negros Occidental, and other LGUs—Marikina City and Puerto Princesa City for 2020, and Capiz for 2021—in SEAMEO INNOTECH, Quezon City on April 3.

The technical inspection reports, based on the inspection and validation of the team constituted by the DepEd Undersecretary and Palarong Pambansa Secretary-General Revsee Escobedo, were presented by Bureau of Learner Support Services (BLSS) Director Rizalino Jose Rosales before the Board.

Under Palarong Pambansa Resolution No. 2019-002, the Board adopted the policies on determining the selection of the venue or the host LGU, as stipulated in Republic Act No. 10588, three years in advance “in order to give sufficient time for the winning host to prepare for its playing facilities and billeting quarters, and allocate funds in its annual budget appropriation.”

The hosting of the Palarong Pambansa is determined by bidding and guided by the principle of the “Luzon-Visayas-Luzon-Mindanao” rotation or cycle. Members of the Palaro Board evaluate the bids based on the sports venues (40%), billeting area (30%), and additional consideration (30%) including peace and order/conducive conduct of the Palaro; opportunity to promote and showcase LGUs’ socio-economic and cultural uniqueness; and the capability and willingness of LGUs to renovate or upgrade sports facilities and billeting areas.