October 13, 2021— DepEd TV teacher-broadcasters and ETUlay online tutors of the Department of Education (DepEd) have recently received international and national recognition for their work and support in implementing distance learning initiatives of the agency.

“Congratulations to our teacher-broadcasters and online tutors who have been with us since the beginning for our implementation of the Basic Education-Learning Continuity Plan. We are grateful for your sharing of your time and effort to ensure education will still be delivered to our dear learners,” Education Secretary Leonor Magtolis Briones said.

DepEd TV Teacher-broadcasters Levin Pabriaga and Marilyn Landicho Escoto are set to represent the Philippines in the prestigious Asian Academy Creative Awards (AAA) after winning the National Award for Best Pre-school Program and Best Children’s Program categories, respectively, last September 30, 2021. They will represent DepEd TV in the AAA Awards Night in Singapore on December 2-3.

Teacher Levin hosts the Kindergarten program while Teacher Marilyn teaches Grade 2 Filipino for DepEd TV, the agency’s television-based instruction broadcasted in national and regional partner stations.

Meanwhile, the recently-concluded ETUlay Awards recognized teacher-tutors for their extraordinary work and dedication to the ETUlay tutorial series of the Department for learning continuity.

Chosen through a comprehensive process of voting and interviews, Maria May N. Sevilla of Navotas won the Outstanding English Tutor Award while Pamela Amor R. Villanueva of Caloocan bagged the Outstanding Filipino Tutor Award.

In addition, the Outstanding AP Tutor Award and Outstanding Science Tutor Award were given to Kristine G. Ribada of Olongapo and Antonio Maypa, respectively. Tutor Prince Andrew C. Mangahas received the Outstanding Math Tutor Award, while Teacher Erza Ulep bagged both the Outstanding Tutor Award for EPP/TLE and Wellness.

The Outstanding MAPEH Tutor Award was given to three teachers, Jeodhel Sestoso of Navotas (Music), Eujan Ruflyn Alice Abracia of SDO Tapat (Arts), Bernard Ramir Arcabos of SDO Manila for PE 3, and Jonathan Almirante fo Bacoor City (Health). Furthermore, the Outstanding ESP Tutor and Outstanding SHS Tutor were awarded to Joy Salazar and Ma. Alma Shiela Manabat of Antipolo, respectively. Meanwhile, Muntinlupa City’s Noerine V. Polo won the Outstanding ALS Tutor Award.

Teacher Levin Pabriaga of Bacoor City earned her spot as the Outstanding Storyteller, while John Labadan of Las Piñas received the Outstanding SPED Tutor Award. Lastly, Rjay C. Calaguas of Angeles City grabbed his spot as the Outstanding MTB-MLE Tutor.

The winners of the event received DepEd Computerization Packages consisting of one laptop and cellphone for the tutor and ten laptop units for their school.