PASIG CITY, 15 January 2024 — The Department of Education (DepEd) is grateful for the cooperation and commitment of the City Government of Taguig and Makati towards an orderly transition of the schools affected by the Supreme Court’s Decision in the case entitled, Municipality of Makati vs. Municipality of Taguig (G.R. No. 235316).

Likewise, DepEd also recognizes Regional Director Gilbert Sadsad and all of the members of the Transition committee for their perseverance and diligence throughout the entire process.

With the common goal of delivering quality education, Vice President and Secretary of Education Sara Z. Duterte, Taguig Mayor Lani Cayetano, and Makati Mayor Abby Binay signed a Memorandum of Agreement for the full transition of the public schools’ operations from Makati to Taguig beginning January 01, 2024.

In the said agreement, the Schools Division of Taguig-Pateros will now manage and operate the fourteen (14) schools.

While there are still specific issues and appeals that shall be left to the final determination of the proper authorities, the transition has been finally  concluded through the collective resolve of the parties in ensuring the unhampered delivery of basic education services.

Thank you.