The National Capital Region


The National Capital Region (NCR), also known as Metropolitan Manila, is the capital region of the Philippines. It is located in the southwestern portion of Luzon, directly below Central Luzon. Lying along the flat alluvial and deltaic plains draining the Pasig River and Laguna de Bay, its territory extends eastward and up the rolling hills of Marikina Valley and stops short at the lowlying edges of Rizal province. It is bounded by the fertile plains of Central Luzon in the North, the sweeping Sierra Madre Mountains in the East, and Laguna de Bay in the South. Manila Bay, on the other hand, spreads out perfectly on the West, providing a great canvass for the famed sunsets of Manila.

The DepEd National Capital Region is composed of 16 schools divisions and its school population is being served by 516 public elementary and 456 public junior and senior high schools, complemented by 1,982 private pre-schools, 2,122 private elementary schools, 965 private junior high schools and 721 private senior high schools serving more than  2.8 million children in the region.