DO 82, s. 1987 – Amendments to DECS Order No. 45, s. 1987 on the Integration of the Fishery Education and Training Project

August 6, 1987
DO 82, s. 1987
Amendments to DECS Order No. 45, s. 1987 on the Integration of the Fishery Education and Training Project

To: Undersecretaries
Assistant Secretaries
Bureau Directors
Presidents, State Colleges and Universities
Vocational School Superintendents/Administrators

  1. On the basis of the results of the meeting that determined the gaps and growth points of DECS Order No. 45, s. 1987 and its implementing guidelines, the following amendments are hereby made on the said DECS Order:
    1. Paragraph 1 is amended to read as follows:
      Pursuant to the overall Fishery Training Project objective of strengthening fishery training and education in the country, and in view of the forthcoming completion of the said project on December 31, 1987, the functions relative to the field monitoring of the implementation of the RIFT’s Diploma in Fishery Technology (DFT) program under the Sixth Loan project are hereby transferred from the Educational Development Projects Implementing Task Force (EDPITAF) to the DECS Regional Offices (DECS-ROs). The DECS-ROs shall monitor the implementation of the RIFT fishery programs vis-à-vis the objectives, goals and targets set under the Sixth Loan Fishery Project 1786-PH and shall provide implementation feedback to the BTVE for policies formulation and validation of standards.
      Overall coordination and monitoring of the implementation of the DFT program across the seven RIFTs is transferred from EDPITAF to the BTVE. Henceforth, the BTVE shall provide the linkages and coordination necessary to effectively monitor the overall programs of the seven (7) RIFTs and integrate the DFT program thrusts into the mainstream of the education system.
      The identified seven RIFTs are listed hereunder:
      Region II – Cagayan State University (Aparri Institute of Technology, Aparri, Cagayan)
      Region IV – Palawan National Agricultural College (Puerto Princesa City)
      Region V – Bicol University College of Fisheries (Cebu State College of Science and Technology, Carmen, Cebu)
      Region VIII – Samar Regional School of Fisheries (Catbalogan, Samar)
      Region IX – Zamboanga State College of Marine Science and Technology (Fort Pilar, Zamboanga City)
      Region XI – Davao del Norte School of Fisheries (Panabo, Davao del Norte)
      The RFTCs as a component of the project are institutions under the administration and supervision of the Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources, Department of Agriculture. Pursuant to the Loan Covenant, the RFTCs shall assist the RIFTs in the training of students for better employability and in placement. Moreover, under section 8 of PD 704, BFAR shall render technical assistance to fisheries schools and colleges in their educational and research activities. Also, BFAR through the RFTCs, shall train as many technician students as they are able to do as part of the students’ on-the-job training requirement for graduation. The RFTC staff shall also cooperate in the in-service education of faculty, serve as resource persons for specialized topics and other related activities upon request of fishery schools within the service area. The RIFTs may also seek the technical assistance and cooperation of the RFTCs in areas of the latter’s expertise.
    2. Paragraph 4 is amended to read as follows:
      The Executive Director of EDPITAF, the Director of BTVE, the DECS Regional Directors and the administrators of the seven RIFTs shall therefore meet as a committee to effect the smooth turnover of the program monitoring functions as called for in this Order.
  2. It is desired that this Order be disseminated for the information and guidance of all concerned.

Reference: MECS Orders Nos. 72, s. 1979 and 45, s. 1987
Allotment: 1-3—(M.O. 1-87)

To be indicated in the Perpetual Index under the following subjects: