April 15, 1998 – DO 37, s. 1998 – The Establishment of Pilot Provincial Science and Technology High Schools
April 15, 1998
DO 37, s. 1998
The Establisment of Pilot Provincial Science and Technology High Schools

To:   Bureau Directors
Regional Directors
Schools  Superintendents
Regional Science High School Principals
Divisional Leader School Principals (Secondary)
Vocational High School Principals

1.   The Department of Education, Culture and Sports through the Bureau of Secondary Education, in its goal to produce globally competitive, self-reliant and productive citizens who can contribute to the socio-economic well-being of the community shall establish on a pilot basis in each representative region a special school which shall be called the Provincial Science and Technology High School.
2.   These secondary schools are envisioned to cater to the technological demands of the community. They shall primarily focus on the application of laws and principles of science to prepare students to successfully meet the challenges of a technology-laden world of work.
3.   The Provincial Science and Technology High Schools shall implement a special curriculum which provides appropriate background in Science and in Technology for students to apply knowledge, skills and attitudes learned in school and in the community businesses and industries.
4.   Among the many features of the school are the following: secondary education which caters to the scientific, technological and socio-economic demands of the community; link-up with the local industries/businesses to provide additional technical knowledge and actual work experiences for students; application of learnings in Science and Technology and Home Economics in actual work situations; an enriched Science and Technology and Home Economics curricula which are geared to the existing and emerging community businesses/industries; and the application of the learnings in Science, Technology and On-Site Work Experience in a project proposal which is expected to be implemented during the fourth year.
5.   The technology specialization of the school shall be dependent on the predominating/emerging industry/ies in the province.
6.   While the previously established Regional Science High Schools, Learning Resource Centers and the S & T-Oriented High Schools of the ESEP cater to the intellectually gifted students and aim to prepare them for careers in the sciences, the Science and Technology High School shall focus on the average group who may or may not proceed to college. These schools shall be primarily for terminal secondary education.
7.   The establishment of the schools shall either be through conversion or establishment of a new school. The process of establishment shall be called conversion if a small-size high school is totally but gradually transformed into a Science and Technology High School and the establishment of a new school is done through an evolution of a new school from an established high school.
8.   The program shall be piloted in SY 1998-1999 in the sixteen regions in the following tryout schools:
Region                                   Name of School/                                 Implementation Strategy

I                                        Speaker E. Perez National                              Establishment
Agricultural School San Carlos City

II                                      Sanchez-Mira School of Arts                            Establishment
and Trades Sanchez-Mira, Cagayan
III                                     San Miguel High School                                   Establishment
San Miguel, Bulacan
IV                                  Amaya School of Home Industries                       Establishment
Tanza, Cavite
V                                      Bonga High School                                          Establishment
Bonga, Bacacay, Albay
VI                                     Moscoso-Rios NHS                                          Establishment
Villavert-Jimenez, Hamtic Antique
VII                                    BuanoyNHS                                                     Establishment
Buanoy, Balamban, Cebu


VIII                                 Nena School of Craftmanship                              Conversion
And Home Industries San Julian,Eastern Samar


IX                                     Buayan NHS                                                    Establishment
Kabasalan, Zamboanga del Sur
X                                      Misamis Occidental NHS                                  Establishment
Oroqieta City
XI                                     Bula National School of                                     Conversion
Fisheries Gen. Santos City

XII                                    Tamontaka High School                                    Establishment
Tamontaka, Cotabato City

XIII                                        Dapa NHS                                                   Establishment
Dapa, Surigao del Norte


CAR                        Tublay School of Home Industries                               Conversion
Acop, Tublay, Benguet
ARMM                   Tawi-Tawi School of Arts and                                        Establishment
Trades Bongao, Tawi-Tawi


NCR                                Parang High School                                            Establishment
Parang, Marikina
9.   Schools which shall be established/evolved from the mother school, are hereby directed to identify future school sites. Recommended school sites are suggested to be the Local Government counterpart in the establishment of said type of schools.
10.   Priority in the provision of school buildings and facilities through the DECS regular budget and other supportive programs shall be given to these schools.


                              ERLINDA C. PEFIANCO


Allotment: l-2-(D.O. 50-97)


To be indicated in the Perpetual Index
under the following subjects: