DepEd Conducts Research Caravan, BERA Unveiled

City of San Fernando, La Union – As part of Department of Education (DepEd)’s nationwide Research Caravan, the DepEd Regional Office 1 thru the Policy Planning and Research Division (PPRD) conducted its half-day orientation on Basic Education Research Agenda (BERA) at the National Educators Academy of the Philippines (NEAP) Region 1, City of San Fernando, La Union on July 12, 2016.

The activity aims to strengthen existing partnerships and discuss new research collaborations based on the research agenda.

It was attended by the Schools Division Superintendents (SDSs), Assistant Schools Division Superintendents (ASDSs), Research Coordinators, School Heads and Master Teachers from the 14 Schools Division in Region 1.

In her welcome remarks, Dr. Alma Ruby C. Torio, DepEd Regional Director stressed that Education Researches do play an invaluable role in formulating education policies from preschool to graduate schools.

Serving as the Keynote Speaker, Dr. Paulito C. Nisperos, Don Mariano Marcos Memorial State University-Mid La Union Campus (DMMMSU-MLUC) Chancellor presented the means to develop network of research advocates in the region and encouraged more educators to engage in research.

Ms. Cristina Cay, Project Development Officer II of Policy Research Division (PRD)-DepEd Central Office also gave a comprehensive orientation on the recently launched Basic Education Research Agenda (BERA). The BERA revolves around four (4) main themes, namely: teaching and learning, child protection, human resource development, and governance.

Dr. Cecilia P. Rosido, PPRD Chief also discussed the Regional Research Agenda and Research Initiatives.

Testimonials on Research in the School were also shared by Dr. Adela C. Libunao, Principal II of Aringay National High School and Ms. Frelinda N. Medrano of Palamis Elementary School in Alaminos City, Pangasinan.

The activity ended with the signing of Commitment of Support to Research spearheaded by Dr. Paulito C. Nisperos, RD Alma Ruby C. Torio and Ms. Cristina Cay. All the attendees affixed their signatures as their sign of commitment and support.