PGLU lauds Outstanding Educators of La Union

San Fernando City, La Union – The Provincial Government of La Union (PGLU) lauded this year’s Ten Outstanding Public School Teachers of the Province of La Union (TOPSTPLU) in the awarding ceremony held at the Diego Silang Hall, Provincial Capitol, City of San Fernando, La Union on October 25, 2016.

The TOPSTPLU award is a program which recognizes and honors the exemplary contributions, hard work, and dedication of public school teachers whose services are great instruments in providing the young people with the necessary knowledge, abilities, skills, and character to become functional and responsible individuals.

“Education is always one of the priority pillars of the provincial government. We have committed our steadfast support to our schools through the provision of resources, and funding of programs as well as much needed infrastructure. All of these will be of little use without the hard work and dedication of the mentors represented by the ten outstanding teachers we are honoring today,” Gov. Francisco Emmanuel “Pacoy” R. Ortega III said as he congratulated the awardees.

Governor Ortega encouraged the teachers to ensure that school children will be provided with excellent education, life-long learning, and aspiration to become outstanding citizens, respectful, and loving children. He expressed optimism that with all of this, learners will have a brighter future, which is the dream of every parent.

On the other hand, Vice Gov. Aureo Augusto Q. Nisce stated that the teachers are very vital in peoples’ lives.  They perform the noblest job – hold the key towards a brighter future, better society, and progressive country. The success of an individual is accredited to the mentoring and guidance of the teachers; they are silent heroes.

“The awardees individually performed their duties and tasks outstandingly. They have done more than their call of duty. We are who we are today because we have good teachers, I salute you! We are so proud of you,” Vice Gov. Nisce stressed.

The teacher-awardees are Idelisa A. Dotong, Tubao Central Elementary School (CES); Lorena M. Garol, Aringay CES; Judy G. Munar, Rosario Integrated School; Van Borin C. Generosa, Payocpoc Este ES; Rosebeth R. Gabay, LU SPED Center; Brenda A. de la Peña, Padang Primary School; Zeny Q. Karganilla, Bacnotan National High School (BNHS); Fatima R. Nana, San Gabriel Vocational HS; Brenda E. Padilla, SFU SPED HS; and Rodel D. Balderas, Pres. Elpidio Quirino NHS.

By virtue of the ordinance creating the TOPSTPLU, each awardee received a Plaque of Recognition and cash gift from the PGLU.