PASIG CITY, June 6, 2018 – Eight public school and four higher education teachers made it to the semi-finals of the 2018 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos– Award for Teachers.

The Metrobank Foundation, Inc. (MBFI) has recently made the announcement after the evaluation of the Board of Assessors. The shortlist consists of four elementary, four secondary, and four higher education teachers who will advance to the next stage of the search.

The finalists for the elementary level (Kindergarten to Grade 6) are: Carina de los Santos of Uyugan Elementary School (Uyugan, Batanes); Dominic Ocampo of Benito R. Villar Memorial School (Baco, Oriental Mindoro); Sharon Ballogan of Langayan Primary School (Mayoyao, Ifugao); and Mary Jane Ramo of Tonggo Elementary School (Tudela, Misamis Occidental).

For the secondary level (Grades 7 to 12), the finalists are: Alma Janagap of Pavia National High School (Pavia, Iloilo); Josseth Ante-Malida of Landan National High School (Polomolok, South Cotabato); Aimee Marie Gragasin of Philippine Science High School-Cagayan Valley Campus (Bayombong, Nueva Vizcaya); and Dr. Venus Alboruto of Surigao City National High School.

Meanwhile, the following made the cut for higher education level: Dr. Mercedes Rodrigo of Ateneo de Manila University (Quezon City); Dr. Carla Dimalanta of University of the Philippines-Diliman (Quezon City); Dr. Mary Beth Maningas of the University of Santo Tomas (Manila); and Dr. Erlinda Vasquez of Visayas State University (Baybay, Leyte).

Department of Education (DepEd) Secretary Leonor Magtolis Briones lauded the teachers for their unwavering commitment and dedication to service, fueled by their genuine concern for the welfare of the Filipino learners. “This early, we congratulate them for making it to the semi-finals through their milestone accomplishments in service and in the community,” she enthused.

Each shortlisted teacher will undergo field validation process to assess the depth and magnitude of the impact of their accomplishments on target beneficiaries and the community. They will also be subjected to a thorough background investigation to ensure that they are not only models of excellence in their line of work, but also of morality in their respective hometowns.

This year, four teachers from the basic and higher education categories will be hailed as Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos. Together with three soldiers and three police officers, awardees will each receive aP1-million cash prize, a trophy, and a gold medallion during Metrobank’s 56th anniversary celebration in September.

This Award is held in partnership with DepEd and the Commission on Higher Education; Rotary Club of Makati Metro and the Armed Forces of the Philippines; Rotary Club of New Manila East, Philippine Savings Bank, and the Philippine National Police.