PASIG CITY, December 22, 2018 – The Department of Education (DepEd) and the Junior Chamber International (JCI) Senate Philippines awarded 20 public schools which championed the implementation of Project W.A.T.C.H. [We Advocate Time Consciousness and Honesty] in a ceremony held on December 17 at the Bulwagan ng Karunungan, DepEd Central Office in Pasig City.

In his speech, Undersecretary for Legislative Affairs, External Partnerships, and School Sports Tonisito Umali, Esq. underscored that it is high time to change the perception of other nations toward the so-called “Filipino time,” and that Project W.A.T.C.H. helps achieve it.

“Valuing time and honesty are the two types of discipline that we need to inculcate among our Filipino learners. These are the traits that they need to practice and master to become successful and disciplined citizens of the world,” Umali stated.

The Undersecretary further highlighted that this effort also benefits the community, not just the schools: “Sa proyektong ito, ‘yung buong komunidad ay maaapektuhan din, pati ang ating pamahalaang lokal at iba’t ibang ahensya ng gobyerno, hindi lamang ang ating mga paaralan. Dahil sa Project W.A.T.C.H., the concept of honesty and being on time will now be a reality in our community and all our government offices.”

The awardees of both elementary and secondary levels received trophies, and a cash prize of P30,000 for the champion; P25,000 for the 1st runner-up; P20,000 for the 2nd runner-up; P15,000 for the 3rd runner-up; P10,000 for the 4th runner-up; and P5,000 for the consolation.

The awardees for the elementary level were: Sto. Niño Elementary School from Region III (champion); Santa Cruz Central Elementary School from Region XI (1st runner-up); Mateo B. Abao Central Elementary School from CARAGA (2nd runner-up); Bato North Central School from Region V (3rd runner-up); and Sta. Maria Center SPED Center from Region IX (4th runner-up).

Don Gregorio Evangelista Memorial School (Region IX), Putik Central School (Region IX), Romero Elementary School (Region V), Gredu Elementary School (Region XI), and Narciso B. Galapin Elementary School (Region XI) received the consolation prize.

Meanwhile, awardees for the high school level were: Cabarroguis National School of Arts and Trades from Region II (champion); Raniag High School from Region II (1st runner-up); Panabo National High School from Region XI (2nd runner-up); Cauayan City National High School from Region II (3rd runner-up); Canabuan City National High School from Region II (3rd runner-up); and San Pedro National High School from Region III (4th runner-up).

  • Sto. Niño Elementary School (Region III) bagged the championship in the elementary level category at the 2018 Project W.A.T.C.H. national awarding ceremony.

Tagum City National Comprehensive High School (Region XI), Tagum City National High School (Region XI), San Vicente National High School (Region XI), and Buenavista SPED High School (CARAGA) received the consolation prize.

In a written message, DepEd Secretary Leonor Magtolis Briones congratulated all the awardees: “I wish to congratulate the best implementers and awardees for championing punctuality and honesty – values that we aim to inculcate among our Filipino learners who will be our future nation-builders.”

She likewise conveyed her gratitude toward the JCI Senate of the Philippines and the DepEd External Partnerships Service-Special Events Unit (EPS-SEU) for the successful conduct of the 2018 national awarding ceremony for the Project W.A.T.C.H.

“With the K to 12 Basic Education Program, DepEd strives to produce 21st century, lifelong learners equipped not only with competencies, but more importantly, with the core values that will enable them to contribute to the betterment of society,” Briones concluded.

Also present at the event were DepEd Undersecretary Annalyn Sevilla, JCI Senators Cesar Ochoa, Apollo Enriquez, and Jeanine De Jesus, and other officials and personnel.

Project W.A.T.C.H. is an advocacy movement for punctuality and honesty jointly undertaken by JCI Senate Philippines and DepEd, pursuant to President Proclamation No. 1782 dated May 21, 2009. This year’s awarding carried the theme, “Oras ay Ginintuan, Katapatan para sa Kinabukasan.”