August 10, 2021 – With the Filipino athletes’ outstanding feat at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics, Education Secretary Leonor Magtolis Briones has encouraged young and talented student-athletes to follow their footsteps by applying for admission at the newly-established National Academy of Sports (NAS).

Secretary Briones lauded the gallant efforts of Olympic weightlifting gold medalist Hidilyn Diaz, boxing medalists Nesthy Petecio, Eumir Marcial, Carlo Paalam, and the other 15 delegates of the Philippines in the Games.

“The victories and triumphs of our Olympians proves that the Philippines has lot to offer in the field of sports. This is also the reason why the Department wants more learners to be trained at the National Academy of Sports,” Secretary Briones, who is also the Chair of NAS Board, said.

Established through Republic Act No. 11470, NAS aims to identify and promote academically competent and athletically talented natural-born Filipino youth from all sectors of the society including indigenous peoples, persons with disabilities, and other marginalized groups.

In collaboration with the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC), NAS is currently conducting its Annual Search for Competent, Exceptional, Notable, and Talented Student-Athletes Scholars (NASCENT SAS), which will determine the first batch of scholars of the institution.

The application for NASCENT SAS for School Year 2021-2022 is extended until August 14, 2021 (Saturday).

In addition, the education chief cited the likes of Paalam and Marcial (boxing), Carlos Yulo (gymnastics), Kurt Barbosa (taekwondo), Ernest John Obiena (pole vault), and Cris Nievarez (rowing) were once student-athletes who competed in Palarong Pambansa, the Department’s national athletic event.

“We encourage our young athletes to apply for Student-Scholarship at NAS. This will help them be more exposed in their chosen sports while enhancing their academic performance,” Briones added.

For more inquiries and proper coordination, you may contact the NASCENT SAS Virtual Office via from Monday-Friday, 8am-5pm.