August 23, 2021 – The Department of Education (DepEd) challenged campus journalists to share correct and truthful information at the conclusion of the first-ever virtual National School Press Conference (NSPC) 2021 on August 13, Friday.

“Your success as journalists will greatly rely on your firm grip on values and faith in Him. Use your talent to communicate and deliver the good news, positive attitude and spread the love for honesty, veracity, and integrity,” Undersecretary for Finance Annalyn Sevilla said in her closing remarks at the three-day virtual NSPC.

“The objective of NSPC is to demonstrate understanding on the importance of journalism by expressing it through different journalistic endeavors and approaches, and promote responsible journalism and fair and ethical use of social media,” she added.

Undersecretary Sevilla noted that young journalists should not forget the ‘deepest why’ they are writing and expressing themselves and why they want to be heard and understood.

In line with this, she challenged the learners to be responsible, credible, and equip themselves with the know-how on scrutinizing disinformation from a real one.

“I have three challenges to give to all of you and I hope you will keep these challenges in your mind and heart. Let’s call these three challenges as SPC – Self-Identity, Perspicacity, and Credibility,” she said.

Sevilla underlined that Self-identity is being aware, mindful, and responsible of own dignity and esteem, and Perspicacity is knowing to identify what is fake from real, while Credibility is being responsible and paying attention to the world.

DepEd has been conducting the NSPC yearly to leave a lasting impact on the development of aspiring journalists, sustaining advocacy on social consciousness and environmental awareness, and enhance journalistic competence.

The three-day virtual NSPC 2021 was headlined by multi-awarded veteran journalists and speakers including Mr. Horacio “Howie” Severino, Ms. Malou Mangahas (Investigative Reporting), Ms. Susan Enriquez (Radio and Script Writing Fililipino), Mr. Stanley T. Chi (Editorial Cartooning), Mr. Randolph B. Leongson (Sports Writing), Mr. Jeff Canoy (Mobile Journalism), Mr. Mark Z. Saludes (Photojournalism), Prof. Danilo A. Arao (Editorial and Column Writing, and Prof. Yvonne T. Chua (News and Feature Writing).

In addition, Mr. Timothy James Dimacali spearheaded the Science Discovery category, Mr. Rupert Ambil, Mr. Vino Lucero, and Mr. Voltaire Tupaz (Advocacy Journalism),  Dr. Michael Francis Andrada (Campus Journalism Vlog), Mr. John Clifford Sibayan (Online Publication), Mr. Maricel Halili and Mr. Gerg Anrol Cahiles (TV Scriptwriting and Broadcasting), Ms. Mirinza  Boncan (Radio Scirptwriting and Broadcasting English), Mr. Dale De Vera (Infomercial), Prof. Stephenie Ong Busbus (Development of Instructional Materials in Campus Journalism), and Prof. Jeremaiah Opiniano (Teachers’ Research on Campus Journalism).