October 08, 2021 – The Department of Education (DepEd) expressed support to Filipino teachers who were recognized for their best education practices, skills, and leadership in the national and international award-giving bodies during the celebration of World Teachers’ Day on Tuesday.

“So, as we celebrate Global Teachers’ Day, we want to cheer on our finalists. We want to cheer on all who are participating in global events, where skill, creativity, loyalty, as well as the love of teachers is celebrated and revered,” DepEd Secretary Leonor Magtolis Briones said.

With the theme “Gurong Filipino: Katuwang sa Hamon, Kasama sa Pagbangon,” the NTD 2021 recognized the teacher-awardees for going beyond excellence in carrying out their duties as frontliners of the education sector amid the pandemic.

Metrobank Foundation conferred the 2021 Outstanding Filipino Award to Teachers Lou Sabrina S. Ongkiko, Jason B. Albaro, Maria Minerva P. Calimag, and Iris Thiele Isip-Tan, while MaryLindbert International honored Cherry Belle Del Rosario, Mario Paneda, Johnny Samino, Arnel Batalla, Rainelda Blanco, Jennifer Mora, Grace Mosqueda, Garry Pangan, Romelito Flores, Flordeliza Gecobe, Domingo Idanan, and Rosemarie Torres in this year’s Gintong Parangal.

“I chose teaching as a form of loving. Witnessing a growth of a child, and how they develop to be more confident. Whenever my student says “Ma’am alam ko na, ang galing ko na,” rather than say “ang galing mo” because teaching isn’t about us. It’s about them,” Ms. Ongkiko said in a presentation.

International honorees include Princess Maha Chakri Award winner Mr. Marcelo T. Otinguey, Global Teacher Prize finalists Mr. Bryant Acar and Ms. Michelle Rubio, Fulbright Program fellows Ms. Shiela Nina Rea-Santes, Ms. Cherry Azul, Mr. Rex Sario, Mr. Jan Aldrin Belisario, Mr. Ronald Manguiat, Global Citizenship Award recipient Mr. Marco Meduranda, APTW Mentorship and Grant recipient Mr. Melandro Delos Retes Santos, Ms. Kristine Joan Barredo, Asia-Pacific Teacher Exchange for Global Education (APTE) Best Practice Contest placers Mr. Noel Sadinas, Ms. Honey Riza Vega, Mr. George Borromeo, and UNIFFIED Most Influential Teacher Award recipient Mr. Joel Hawod.

Furthermore, Ms. Maria Christina Robles, Ms, Arlene C. Vidal, Ms. Celia M. Inducil, Ms. Yolanda Gonzales, Ms. Josephine Fernandez were also recognized in the T4 Education: World Education Week, as well as Dr. Alma Canton and Mr. Hector Lopez for their achievement in the 2020 SEAMEO-JAPAN ESD Award.

Philippine Postal Corp. Postmaster and CEO Norman Fulgencio also turned over the commemorative NTM stamp souvenir frame to Sec. Briones symbolizing the vital work teachers do especially during this pandemic.

“The stamps effectively show the entire country how important our teachers are. Thank you with all our gratitude in all our hearts. Thank you very much. Happy Teachers Day,” Briones noted.