October 29, 2021 — The Department of Education (DepEd) has recently welcomed new officials of the Bureau of Learning Resources (BLR) and the Teacher Education Council (TEC).

Education Secretary Leonor Magtolis Briones administered the oath-taking of Atty. Ariz Delson Acay D. Cawilan as Director IV of BLR and Dr. Archie Resos and Dr. Annabel Casumpa as members of the TEC on October 11.

“By taking in new people, we are recognizing professionals, we are bringing in, as I’ve said, new people to contribute to the work of education, not just the Department of Education but the other two institutions as well,” Education Secretary Leonor Magtolis Briones said in her speech.

Briones stressed the key responsibilities of the appointed officials and how their appointment will be vital for the next projects of DepEd. She also expressed her passion for recognizing the importance of teachers.

“We are very fortunate that a young official of the Department has agreed to join the Curriculum and Instruction strand on facing the challenges and making sure that the learning resources are provided not only during the COVID-19 pandemic but also for the years to come as we introduce the better normal after the pandemic,” Undersecretary for Curriculum and Instruction Diosdado San Antonio shared.

Usec. San Antonio shared his sentiments on the importance of learning resources for blended learning modality, especially during the pandemic. He paired his warm welcome to the incoming Director IV of BLR with a challenge for the future of the Bureau.

Atty. Ariz Cawilan was formerly assigned in the DepEd-National Capital Region before his transfer to the Central Office.

Meanwhile, Dir. Runvi Manguerra provided a brief history of the TEC as he welcomed the new members of the council.

“I am pleased to welcome the new members of the council, we will work hand-in-hand with our division in the Teacher Education Council. So my warmest congratulations to Dr. Archie Resos and Dr. Annabel Casumpa. We wish you the best of luck and we hope you enjoy your journey with us,” TEC Director Runvi Manguerra greeted.

Dr. Archie Resos of the University of Santo Tomas is a member representing social studies teachers while Dr. Annabel Casumpa of Ateneo de Davao University is a member representing Mindanao.