PASIG CITY, December 02, 2022 – The Regional Federation of Supreme Student Government (RFSSG) President from Region IV-A will now be leading the National Federation of Supreme Student Governments (NFSSG) for SY 2022-2023 following a recently concluded nationwide virtual elections held last November 26.

Rhanier John M. Reyes from Los Baños Senior High School in Laguna was elected as President along with other student leaders in a virtual election conducted by the Office of the Assistant Secretary for Youth Affairs and Special Concerns-Youth Formation Division (OASYASC-YFD).

“All I know is that I have a selfless dream for our youth, and I’am willing to work 24/7 to make that a reality. “Destiny” as many will say, but to me, more than that, I think this is a clear manifestation of our students’ desire for genuine change,” Reyes said.

The other elected officers were Jester DJ. Manalo – Vice President (Region III-Gapan City), Shayne Khietly D. Mellijor – Secretary (CARAGA-Butuan City), Allen Kate A. Llenarisas – Treasurer (Region V-Camarines Norte), Jesseree P. Alcover – Auditor (Region VII-Carcar City), Maxene Alliyah C. Malabad – Public Information Officer (Region II-City of Ilagan), and Datu Farouk Ampatuan – Protocol Officer (BARMM-Cotobato City).

Highlighting the significance of establishing a strong group of student representation, Assistant Secretary for Youth Affairs and Special Concerns Dr. Dexter A. Galban mentioned that the SSG is the highest student governing body and the foremost co-curricular student organization to run and implement relevant programs, projects, and activities (PPAs) in schools across the country.

“Through our SSGs and SPGs, we lay down the groundwork for good governance, volunteerism, participatory governance, democracy, responsible servant-leadership, collaboration, and the inculcation of essential values espoused by the Department of Education (DepEd), particularly, being Maka-Diyos, Maka-tao, Makakalikasan, at Makabansa,” Asec. Galban said in his keynote message.

This year’s election was participated in by the 17 RFSSG Presidents nationwide, who in turn nominated their candidates for a particular position (Vice President, Secretary, Secretary, Treasurer, Auditor, Public Information Officer (PIO), and Protocol Officer).

“I encourage you all to keep learning, to keep working together, and to keep inspiring one another to build better communities for our nation. And as I say, the youth are done waiting for the world to change and the world is now waiting for the youth to change it,” Asec. Galban added.